15042009 Kishi

Few days before making this trip, I came across a feature on Tama-chan, a cat who is a station master in the township of Kishi. So after class today, I decided to make my way to Wakayama to see it for myself. How often do you get a cat who is wholly in charge of a station?

First, took the JR line to Hineno, then changed trains to head in Wakayama’s direction. I finally made my way to Wakayama’s main station, but I got lost, because I’ve never been here, and it was a busy one, with up to nine different platforms. I couldn’t understand their map and walked in and out a few times till I gave up and asked their station staff. They then directed me to the correct platform, and took the train to Kishi.

Alas I reached there 15 minutes late, Tama-chan was already off duty. Decided to just stroll around the town before heading back to Rinku town, and I met this salaryman named Fujio-san who was heading back to Wakayama after a business meeting. We chatted for a bit and the next train which came along was the famed ‘ichigo-densha’, or the ‘strawberry train’.

Fujio-san was really nice, and he offered to sit with me in the same carriage because I was all alone, and we chatted all the way back. He told me he was heading to the Philippines soon for volunteer work, and I taught him a few words I’ve learned from the Pinoys back at the center. We also got to view the setting sun all the way back to Wakayama, and it was pretty, seeing the golden glow over the green paddy fields.

Bade Fujio-san farewell at Wakayama, and then I took the next train back to Hineo.

Leave a comment