16062013 Kumamoto to Haneda to Narita

My second last day in Japan, and my last day in Kumamoto. I had intended to have breakfast at the hotel’s lobby before departing for the airport, but after downing the salad I bought from the supermarket yesterday, a cup of coffee and some juice, I felt too full to eat anything else. Ended up lounging in the room watching some television till it was 6.30am. Headed down to the lobby to use their internet before leaving. Did I mention that it was very awkward to have the receptionists keep bowing to you at every chance they had? I was doing my laundry yesterday evening after checking in, and the laundry room is outside across from the lobby. I had to make a few trips because I miscalculated the time it would take to dry my laundry, and every time I walked across the lobby, they would stop whatever they were doing to bow to me, and after some time, I felt embarrassed for making them doing that. If they weren’t sick of it yet, I was, so I ended up sitting out at the back door of the laundry room which opens to the backyard of the hotel till my laundry was properly done.

Which brings us to today. I took the 7am airport transfer. Took about 10 minutes to the airport, and the check-in staff could not find my booking because I had re-booked myself on an earlier flight out. Took her some effort to finally locate it. Shopped for some last-minute souvenirs because I was meeting a few people back in Tokyo later.

1

Found an observation deck and took some pictures, but it was far too hot to linger outside for too long (around 32 degrees Celsius today). Went back into the terminal where it’s much cooler, but then witnessed a drunkard who was curled up on the floor, being attended to by some security staffs. Cleared the security check and found my aircraft already parked at it’s bay. It was a Disney 30th Anniversary aircraft, specially painted to celebrated Tokyo Disneyland’s 30th year in Japan. Nothing really special if you asked me. Only the headrests and cups had the Disneyland motives, which was just about it.

2

8

Experience some turbulence as usual, and the pilot announced it over the PA explaining that it was due to the stationary front during the rainy season for Japan. Flew over Shizuoka, circled around Tokyo and landed at Haneda. First person to greet me was Shiraishi, and we headed off to Shinagawa to grab a bite. I was terribly hungry, so he brought me to a buffet restaurant, and I had a fine time stuffing my face silly. After brunch, he walked me to the station because I was headed for Tokyo station, and he was on his way to report for his afternoon shift.

7

The second part of the day, was lunch with some ex-Japan embassy staffs. Was treated to a fine tempura meal. The staff explained that it would be a lot of trouble to prepare tempura at home, so he found eating out much easier, plus there was no need to clean up after. Appetisers was chilled brinjal, with some mayo topped on top of it. It was broiled in miso stock. Next came a plate of fried chilli, squid, fish and prawn. Kept the prawn for the last because it was my favourite. Had it with plain salt, while the two other dipping choices were wasabi salt for the kicks and another with herbs mixed in it. Preferred mine with soy sauce and shredded radish.

After we were done with the first plate, we were served tempura brinjal and mackerel. We were also served a small cup of juice, though I had no idea what it was, but it was red in colour, and definitely not tomato or beetroot, yet tasted great. After we were done with the brinjal and mackerel, a restaurant staff came up and asked what kind of rice we would like, as they were serving us rice topped with tempura (天丼 tendon). By then I was rather stuffed, yet it was such a waste, because it was absolutely delicious. Only managed to finish half of the rice before I gave up.

No meal was complete without dessert, so we had a round of chocolate drinks after the heavy meal, while the staff helped me check for the fastest and cheapest way to Narita. He was telling me about a 1000 yen bus which goes right to Narita from the Tokyo station, so we had some after meal exercise walking around Tokyo station, searching for the bus ticket counters and also the bus stop. A staff at the information counter was kind enough to give us directions, but by then I realised it was 4pm and did not had time to check it out, because I had promised to meet my host parents then. Apologised and thanked the staff for their kindness, before rushing to the meeting spot, and found my host parents already there, waiting for me.

6

These two kind souls hosted my stay in Tokyo during my JAL Scholarship stint (My host father brought me to Nikko, and my host mother took me for a girls’ day out). We visited the Mitsubishi Ichigokan first, but unfortunately the art museum was closed, save for a few exhibitions which we entered to take a look, but there was nothing much. My host mother was complaining about the ugly modern buildings in her usual snobbish tone whenever she wanted to poke fun at something (in her own words, kitanai biru, literally ‘dirty buildings), as she claimed that the old buildings were far much nicer. My host father explained that Mitsubishi started out as a bank, and his father used to work there as a banker, while his grandfather was in the army.

5

4

We then walked to the new adjacent building called KITTE, which was an old post office they rebuilt, hence the name kitte for stamp. Went up to the 6th floor for the observation deck to get a good view of the Tokyo station from up here. Host mother was still dryly pointing out that those ugly ugly buildings which were taller than Tokyo station should not be allowed to build around it, hiding the station from view when it should be standing out instead. Evidently the Japanese government did not share her views! We strolled around the building, since the host father had made dinner reservations for us at 6pm, and we still had time to spare. He also pointed out that the Japanese’s idea of renewal is to tear down the old building and rebuild it, while mixing both old and new architecture. One side of the KITTE building as old fashioned, while the other was new. We also visited the museum located in it, expecting it to be about postal or mail, but we were so wrong. It was a huge collection of bones and specimens from the Tokyo University. Both me and my host mother were then lamenting we had been had!  My host father left us in the museum, because he wanted to go look up some train schedules, while my host mother was explaining some of the old photographs which were on display. She mentioned that most of the ladies who had their pictures taken, were most probably prostitutes or performers. This was because the mindset at that time was that ladies can’t be seen or shown off to others so publicly.

3

Finished our tour of the museum, and met up with my host father, who came back looking rather pleased with himself for obtaining printed train schedules so that I could find my way back to Narita easily (I suspect he hasn’t forgave himself for buying me a random ticket for 500 yen), plus some other cute postcards he got for free to remind me of my visit here. My host mother gave me a very professional looking embroidered card holder. As she puts it, I’m a working adult now in a Japanese company now, so I’ll need it. Dinner was at the 1894 Cafe. The interior of the building was beautiful. It used to be a bank, modeled after those in London. Had a nice long chat with my host parents over a dinner of salad, roast pork and prawns, sharing stories and pictures. Their daughter had just given birth to their eldest grandchild a few weeks earlier, and they were in high spirits. It was nice to talk to them after a long while too.

They walked me back to Tokyo station after dinner. Passed a building along the way, and my host father told me that it used to be the headquarters of our company, before they moved to Shinagawa. He also shared that he used to be in the maintenance section, and that his father had introduced him to that position because the company used to rent the building from Mitsubishi. My host mother laughed and pointed out that he did not had any proper license, and therefore only knew how to destroy engines instead of fixing them.

Thanked them for their wonderful company. They were like real family to me in Japan, and I love them for their humour and wit which most Japanese I knew seemed to lack, and they never failed to always laugh at themselves or poke fun at each other. As I was also feeling rather worn out after a long day, decided to just buy a seat on the Narita Express to get to Narita as soon as I could for a much needed hot shower and rest.

The next morning before my flight back to Malaysia, a staff who had been to our station as a relief came to send me off over a wonderful breakfast of pancakes.

One thought on “16062013 Kumamoto to Haneda to Narita

  1. Pingback: 02022013 Haneda to Narita | この長い旅で

Leave a comment