21012014 Kaihin Makuhari

I had fitful sleeps since last night, and it was the same again for me today. Got up at 4am to get a drink of water because the weather was too terribly dry. Actually had a good deep sleep after that, but then I had to wake up soon when my alarm went off. Breakfast was salmon rice from Family Mart and a tub of yoghurt. Packed my suitcase and checked out at 7.30am.

Caught the train to Haneda Airport, then chucked both of my bags into a coin locker on the first floor. Took the bus to the training center right after that. Today’s training was more on practical, and I got a staff based in Narita. They all had the Narita’s trademark of being a little loud and much more outgoing, while Haneda staffs tend to be more reserved. My ex-colleague was saying last night that this was because Haneda has more female staffs, and generally Japanese females are not easy to get along with (in his own words), which is why everyone has to watch their speech carefully. Narita staffs tend to be much more straight-forward, he said.

8

Whatever it was, I survived till lunch. Was feeling hungry today, so went with some tonkatsu, and shared the same table with the Chinese staffs. Even between the both of them, one was an epitome of the Shanghainese beauty, with her delicate features and speech, while the other from Canton, was what I am much more familiar with, brash and outspoken. To top it off, she was originally from Foshan, so she was telling me that she knows a bit of kung-fu in jest.

As soon as training was over, I sped back to the airport to retrieve my bags and catching the next bus to Kaihin Makuhari. It was such a relief to be out of that place! The Shanghainese still had work to be done, so she had to stay back, so only me and the Cantonese made our escape. Was happy to be on my way to meet a friend for dinner. Had last met her months back in Narita for breakfast together before I flew home. She had told me to get off at Kaihin Makuhari, and that she would come and pick me up there. The bus ride was only 30 minutes, but I did not see her when I got off.

Searched for a public payphone to contact her, and at my first attempt, I dialed the wrong number, but it took my 100 yen coins anyway. Was out of small change, and I had no idea what to do, so I tried my lucky by approaching this salaryman who was standing nearby. Wanted to ask if he had change for my 500 yen coin, but when I opened my mouth to say ‘Excuse me,’ he gave me a look and ran off! So I was standing there in the cold, feeling numb and shocked from what had just happened.

But it was no good fussing over people running away from you, so I dragged my luggage to the nearest convenience store I could find, and asked them if they were willing to exchange some loose change for me, and they gladly did. Finally I had coins! Managed to contact my friend this time, and she said that she was running late, but was almost reaching. She turned up all bundled up like a mummy, and I couldn’t help but to laugh and ask if was really her. ‘It’s too cold!’ was the answer I got from her.

Her father helped to heave my bags into their car, and set off for their home. Her parents insisted that she bring me over for some good home-cook meal. The house was a little small and narrow, but terribly comfy, plus they had the heater on and I was glad to be out of the cold. Her mother was very friendly, and she had asked what were my favourite Japanese food, so she whipped up some home made tonkatsu, potato salad, stir fry vegetables and miso soup. Other items on the menu was konbu with fish, and smoked radish from Akita.

9

Unfortunately the smell for the konbu and fish was too overpowering, and I couldn’t take more than a bite, but the smoked radish made up for it. Over the course of dinner, they told me that the family resided in Singapore for about 10 years, as her father had taken a job with a construction firm, and was sent there to work when my friend was still in middle school. They often crossed over to Johor Bharu for cheap seafood. Her mother was saying that she couldn’t eat anything spicy prior to living in Singapore, but now she enjoys chillies a lot. Also, the mother kept bringing out much more food, and even urged me to try her home-made plum wine (umeshu). She said that since she made it herself, she doesn’t use too much sugar, unlike commercial ones, so it’s healthier. Before I left, she even insisted that I bring some riceballs along with me, and she rushed off to the kitchen to made some despite my objections.

While my friend was busy stuffing my luggage with presents for staffs in my station, I was enjoying hot tea with oranges, while chatting with her father. They even brought out a custard pudding, stuffed between a dorayaki for dessert. Took my leave, and her parents reached out for a hug, which I gladly obligated, as they were such warm nice souls. My friend drove me to my hotel in Narita, so it was very much hassle-free, but halfway through it started raining heavily.

Leave a comment